Fall 2014 Initiates

Dr. Bill Richardson, LSU vice president for agriculture, dean of the College of Agriculture and Chalkley Family Endowed Chair, speaks about the importance of agriculture and the role Gamma Sigma Delta members play in keeping America's food and fiber industry safe and secure during the 2014 Gamma Sigma Delta Fall Initiation.

Presenting and receiving the Outstanding Chapter Award for 2013-2014 are (from left): Dr. Mike Brugger, Dr. Steven Hall, Dr. Krishna Paudel and Dr. Bill Richardson.

Southern University members also are invited to be members of the LSU Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta. Southern University new initiates pictured here are (from left): Dr. Andra Johnson, Dr. Gina Eubanks, Dr. Kenyetta Nelson-Smith and Dr. Renita Marshall.

Dr. Mike Brugger of Gamma Sigma Delta International talks about the Outstanding Chapter Award and why the LSU Chapter has received this award for the 16th time. Brugger commended the chapter on its activities and commitment to Louisiana agriculture.

New initiates and officers for 2014-2015.

Kimberly Jones (left) and Dr. Janet Fox, president-elect, enjoy refreshments that were served following the ceremony.

Dr. Cathy Williams (center) and Dr. Mark Williams talk abut the future of agriculture with Dr. Michael Brugger.

Members enjoy refreshments following the ceremony.

A total of 23 people were initiated in to and one person moved her membership to the Louisiana State University Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta during the 2014 Fall Initiation held Nov. 12 in the Nelson Memorial Building on the LSU Baton Rouge campus.

Dr. Bill Richardson, LSU vice president for agriculture and dean of the College of Agriculture as well as Chalkley Family Endowed Chair holder, was one guest speaker. Richardson stressed the importance of agriculture to America and the role Gamma Sigma Delta members can play in ensuring the American food and fiber industry is kept safe and secure

Dr. Michael Brugger, secretary for Gamma Sigma Delta International, was the other guest speaker. Brugger presented the LSU Chapter with the 2013-2014 Outstanding Chapter Award. This is the 16th time LSU has received this award since the award was first presented in 1976.  Brugger commended the chapter on its Graduate Student Farm and Agribusiness Tour, which began as a new activity for the club in 2014. This activity involves chapter members attending LSU AgCenter field days and businesses around Louisiana to learn more about the impact agriculture has on the Louisiana economy.

New initiates are:

Juniors - Michelle Bourgeois, Anna Ribbeck, and Morgan Richard.
Seniors - Chance Bazar, Matthew Landry, Whitney Miller and Mollie Smoak.
Graduate Students - Teresa Deleon, Adriana Gaitan, Laura Gaspard, Yi Han, Kimberly Jones, Pranjali Muley, Kairy Purjols and John Young.
Veterinary Student - Kelly Long.
Research Associates - Mfamara Goita and Kelli Palmer.
Faulty -- J.C. Bunch, Andra Johnson, Julie Lively, Renita Marshall and Kenyetta Nelson-Smith.

Shanice Jones, an LSU agronomy graduate research assistant and a Gamma Sigma Delta member from Tuskegee University, joined the LSU chapter.
11/18/2014 8:58:55 PM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture