Annual Report - 2001

The 2001 meeting of SERA-IEG-27 was held June 13 - 15, 2001, in College Station, Texas. Official representatives present were: Dewayne Ingram (University of Kentucky), David Foster (Oklahoma State University), Tom Ranney (North Carolina State University), Allen Owings (Louisiana State University), Ed Bush (Louisiana State University), Win Dunwell (University of Kentucky), Cynthia McKinney (Texas A&M University), Mike Arnold (Texas A&M University), Cecil Pounders (Mississippi State University), Gary Knox (University of Florida), Richard Beeson (University of Florida), Jon Lindstrom (University of Arkansas), Bill Klingeman (University of Tennessee), Greg Eaton (Virginia Tech University), and Mike Schnelle (Oklahoma State University). Others present were Steve George (Texas A&M University), Laurie Fox (Virginia Tech University), Jason Griffin (North Carolina State University grad student), and Tom Acre (North Carolina State University technical staff).

Mike Arnold provided a tour of the Texas A&M University (TAMU) Nursery/Floral Field Lab, the Horticulture/Forestry Sciences Building, TAMU Horticulture Gardens nursery facilities, a State park, and a botanic garden and natural areas in the College Station - Austin area. Members reviewed the status of their programs. Procedures for plant evaluation were reviewed. Membership on the Plant Evaluation Committee was broadened and Win Dunwell was elected Chair. The Plant Evaluation Committee goal for the coming year is to develop a report listing the plants distributed, the plant distributors, plant recipients, data collected, expected outcome, and information gained to date. Members decided to submit an application to renew SERA IEG 27. The application for renewal will be coordinated by the Executive Committee. Win Dunwell distributed copies of the recently published article in HortTechnology on the history and activities of SERA IEG 27.

Officers elected for 2001-2002 were Gary Knox -Chair, William Klingemen -Secretary, and Jon Lindstrom -Executive Committee Member. Tennessee will host the 2002 meeting in the McMinnville area in June, 2002. Donna Fare will be the site coordinator. The 2003 meeting is tentatively slated for Louisiana. Submitted 8/24/01 by Gary Knox, Secretary.

6/3/2009 5:40:23 AM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture