Annual Report - 2006

The 2006 meeting of the SERA-IEG 27 was held June 14-17, 2006 in Poplarville, Mississippi. Official representatives present were: Gary Knox (Extension, UF), Winston Dunwell (Extension, UK), Ed Bush (Research, LSU), Allen Owings (Extension, LSU), Patricia Knight (Research, MSU), William Klingeman (Research, UT), Cecil Pounders (USDA-ARS), Michele Scheiber (Research, UF), Dewayne Ingram (Administrative Advisor, UK), and Jerzy Nowak (Administrative Advisor, VT). Guests: Wayne McLaurin (MSU), Christine Coker (MSU). States not represented: Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, US National Arboretum.

Members reviewed the status of the SERA-IEG 27 program and passed a motion to continue the project. The plant evaluation committee was reorganized, evaluation forms modified, and responsibility for data collection was shifted from evaluator to distributor. It was decided that invasiveness should be examined and weediness should be utilized as an indicator. Current findings will continue to be published in the proceedings of the Southern Nursery Associate Research Conference and plans to publish in HortTechnology were discussed. No new plants were adopted for evaluation.

Officers elected for 2005-2006 were Michele Scheiber-Chair, Allen Owings-Secretary, and Jim Robbins-Executive Committee. Ed Bush was elected as Chair of the Plant Evaluation Committee. Kentucky is scheduled to host the 2007 meeting in Lexington. The 2008 meeting will be in Virginia, and the 2009 meeting is tentatively scheduled for Arkansas.

6/3/2009 6:34:51 AM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture