St. James Parish 4-Hers Attend 4-H University

Members of 4-H clubs from across Louisiana were named winners and alternates in 43 contests on June 23, 2011, at the closing session of the LSU AgCenter’s 4-H University.

Winners received ribbons, savings bonds, cash awards and trips to events such as 4-H Congress, which is held in Atlanta, Georgia.

More than 1,400 students participated in 4-H University, which was held over three days on LSU Campus. The students participated in 43 contests, 12 Clover College educational tracks or other educational programs.

Contests represented areas such as agricultural product demonstration, computer simulation, insect identification and wildlife habitat judging.

Clover College tracks explored concepts such as robotics, proper etiquette, and life after high school and learning the basic fundamentals of sound financial management.

“Once again, we have had a successful week at 4-H U,” said Mark Tassin, state leader for the LSU AgCenter’s 4-H youth development program. “We try to adapt the program to meet the needs and wants of our 4-H members. I continue to be impressed by everyone’s enthusiasm at this event.”

During 4-H University, elections for state officers and the 4-H Executive Committee were held. Also, delegates for National 4-H Conference held in Washington, D.C., were selected.

The Louisiana 4-H state officers elected for the 2011-12 school year were Robert Fusilier, Evangeline Parish, state president; Hailey Johnson, Acadia Parish, vice president; Emily Boswell, Allen Parish, secretary; Robert Lancon, Iberia Parish, reporter; and Buck Owens, Ouachita Parish, parliamentarian.

Other members of the 4-H Executive Committee elected to represent the five regions of the state were Bryson Belaire, Evangeline Parish; Whitney Bell, Ascension Parish; Ariel Bergeron, Terrebonne Parish; Laural Blanchard, St. Martin Parish; Bobbie Rae Butler, Caldwell Parish; Brandon Dale, Lafayette Parish, Ashley Graham, Concordia Parish, Katie Kight, Richand Parish; Channing LaLande, Cameron Parish; Daniel Litton, Sabine Parish; Kayla Magee, Ascension Parish; Rebecca Pearce, Pointe Coupee Parish; Bethany Rhodes, Union Parish; Amy Stelly, St. Landry Parish; and Barry Williams, Concordia Parish.

The 2010-11 4-H National Conference delegates who will serve their second year on the Executive Committee are Austin Bordelon, Avoyelles Parish; Michele Bourgeois, St. Charles Parish; Ashley Duhon, Vermillion Parish; and Korey Ryder, Allen Parish.

National 4-H Conference delegates selected and beginning their first year on the Executive Committee were Shawn Fox, Ascension Parish; Mary Johns, St. Charles Parish; Hannah Martin, St. Martin Parish; and Cassidy Sonnier, Calcasieu Parish.

St. James 4-H members competing and placing in the 4-H University contests were:

4-H Has Talent – Paige Bourgeois, participant.

Child Development – Myrionne Joseph and Rebecca Davis, participants.

Fashion Review/Ready to Wear – Kayla Sherman, participant.

Fashion Review/Creative Choice – Blue Ribbon (3rd Place), Christine Schexnayder.

Family and Consumer Science Demonstration – Blue Ribbon (2nd Place – First Alternates)

Hannah Guidry and Lauren Sherman.

Fishing Sports – Blue Ribbon (6th Place), Mason Matirne.

Horticulture Demonstration/Use – Blue Ribbon (7th Place), Marie Matirne and Blue Ribbon (8th Place), Laynie Arceneaux.

Photography – Blue Ribbon (8th Place), Remy Roper and Kalilah Al-amin, participant.

Public Speaking/Any Other Subject – Rebekah Taylor and Audrey Martin, participants.

Sports Broadcasting – Lamy Guidry and Peyton Bourgeois, participants.

Participating in Clover College were:

Operation Military Kid – Claude Louis, III

Forestry 101 – Stevi McClung and Colin Berthelot

6/28/2011 9:10:16 PM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture