LaHouse Contact Info and Team

LaHouse Resource Center
2858 Gourrier Ave.
Baton Rouge, LA 70820
Phone: 225-578-7913 Fax: 225-578-9228

LaHouse Director
Dr. Carol J. Friedland, Associate Professor Biological Agricultural Engineering

Professor Emeritus Dr. Claudette Hanks Reichel, Professor and Extension Housing Specialist

LaHouse Landscape Oversight
Dr. Jeffrey Beasley, Associate Professor, Horticulture

Administrative Coordinator
Debra Langlois

Building Science:
William Robinson, Building Science Educator (part-time)

Healthy Homes:
Susan Babineaux, Educator, Healthy Homes- Central Region (part-time)

Disaster Resistance Education

Pat Skinner, Extension specialist, Disaster Programs

Integrated Pest Management
Dr. Dennis Ring, Entomology

LaHouse Development:

House Design Team Leader
Dr. Claudette Reichel, Housing

Landscape Design Team Leader
Dr. Allen Owings, Horticulture

LaHouse Site Development
Dr. Rodney Hendrick,
retired Callegari
Envionmental Center
Interior Design Team Leader
Carroll Mathews, retired
LSU Interior Design

Partnership Development
Dr. Fran Lawrence,
Family Economics

Graphic Design
Kathy Kramer
Barbara Corns

Design and Construction Professionals

Architect/Design Firm

Remson-Haley Architects
Baton Rouge, La.

General Contractor Roy Domangue
Wooden Creations Inc.
Gonzales, La.

Landscape Architecture Team

Dr. Neil Odenwald, Landscape Architect

Baton Rouge, La.
Dr. Tom Pope, Horticulture Consultant
Baton Rouge, La.

Interior Design Team Carroll Mathews
LSU Interior Design

LaMoyne Design Associates
Baton Rouge, La.

Diane Scimeca
D/S interiors, LLC
Baton Rouge, La.

Jensen Killen
LSU design student intern

Engineering Services
Soil testing PSI Engineering
Grading and drainage plan CSRS Inc.
Owen & White Engineering
HVAC Wynn White Consulting Engineers
Foundation Design Carubba Engineering


Building system integration

Building Science Corp.
(Dr. Joe Lstiburek, Betsy Petit, Armin Rudd)

Florida Solar Energy Center
(both via the U.S. Dept. of EnergyBuilding America Program)

LaHouse Development Team Hood Conf: reviewing drawings on top of vehicle hood

LaHouse Development Team: Roy Domangue (builder), Claudette Reichel (LaHouse chair) Sandy Scallan (prior LaHouse Coordinator), Trula Haley Remson (architect), Rodney Hendrick (site development chair)

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture